As a Bluebeam Certified Consultant, David Haynes gets to speak with users and help them get the most out of their software. Here are answers to recent questions he received that may be helpful to others:
Q. When changing a keyboard shortcut in Revu 2018, does Revu warn you if the shortcut is already in use?
A. Yes. If you select a letter that is already in use, you will get a warning message, for example: “C is currently assigned to Cloud. Select Reassign to proceed and remove the current Keyboard Shortcut Assignment or try another.”
Q. Can you add shortcuts to a task that doesn’t already have a shortcut?
A. Yes. You can add a keyboard shortcut if the task is blank, and you can add one if it isn’t. The only shortcuts you can’t reassign are those that are assigned by Windows.
Q. If we update to Revu 2018, can we still collaborate with those on 2017?
A. Yes. The screen will look different, but the file will be the same.
Q. When a file is synced in Studio, where does it go? Is it saved locally somewhere?
A. If you are in Projects, it will be held on your local machine. If you are in Sessions, the file will be held in the Cloud, and you will be able to check it in and out.
Q. In Sessions, do users without a license still have full mark-up capabilities?
A. Yes. That has not changed.
Q. If the Cloud crashes while I am syncing to Sessions, can I recover the information?
A. Yes. The file will stay in the Pending box. It’s the same process as when a user is disconnected from the internet. Changes are kept in the Pending box until the user reconnects to the internet, at which time the Pendings are completed.
We hope you found this helpful. If you have other questions, or if you would like a free trial of Bluebeam Revu, please contact us at [email protected].