There are four basic functions available within Ideate StyleManager. In this topic we will review the general purpose of each:
The Analyze function is required for most styles to assess which elements are referencing the selected style(s). View templates and material appearance assets do not require an Analyze in order to report their respective usages. All other styles require the Analyze process to investigate all possible usages.
For example, when Ideate StyleManager analyzes the use of a Material, it is assessing whether the material is part of an object style, defined as a layer within a wall, used as a parameter within a family, used as a paint assigned to element, or even whether it’s been defined as an override within a view template or phase setting. The analyze process can take a while, so it is advised to not analyze all styles at once.
In the image below, the numbers showing on the Object Style dialog indicate that those styles have been analyzed. A style must be analyzed before it can be merged or deleted.
Once a style has been analyzed, the Merge button option will be enabled. The Merge button is found on the main dialog for each tool at the lower left corner. Merging allows two or more styles to be combined into a single specified style.
Select a single style from the list on the left and right-click to select Rename. If more than one style is selected, the Rename button will be disabled. New names must be unique within the project.
The Delete button is available when a style has been analyzed. There are two exceptions: one is when the style is built-in, such as the <solid fill> pattern, and the other is when there is an object style from a linked file. In this instance the Delete button will be disabled for the primary category of the linked file. The workaround in this case, would be to remove the link first.
Deleting an unused style is the very purpose of Ideate StyleManager. The fact that it is unused (0 instances) means that it is safe to delete and will not impact the project visibility or graphic display. Deleting unused styles will make the project file and/or related families cleaner, and by providing fewer choices, makes the project simpler to manage moving forward.
Deleting a style that is used is generally not recommended. When a style is deleted, the project data and/or related families will be removed. Elements using this style will be reset to default state. For example, if a subcategory object style is deleted (e.g. Detail Items: Clearance), then the elements assigned to that subcategory will be reset to the parent object style (e.g. Detail Items).
The risk of deletion varies with the usage. Deleting a style that is only used by an unplaced group, for example carries little risk, whereas deleting a style from a placed group will likely result in a change to the displayed graphic in 2D and/or 3D views.
Thank you for taking time to inform us about a bug or feature request.